Address  l  Telephone  l  E-mail   l   Map  
Address:
1560 IH 35 South
San Marcos  TX  78666  USA
LAT: 29.863956 LONG: -97.94636
View and Explore

Reservations:
+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (512) 392-8111 Fax: +1 (512) 392-8180

Email:
cx_smtx@countryinns.com

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, TX

https://www.countryinns.com/san-marcos-hotel-tx-78666/txsanmar

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

4.0 of 5 stars
4.0 of 5 stars Based on 492 traveler reviews
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in San Marcos

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    216
  • Very Good
    117
  • Average
    60
  • Poor
    38
  • Terrible
    62

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    268
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    71
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    16
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    86

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.0 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.
Hotel Photos
IMAGE THUMB Hotel in San Marcos, Texas IMAGE THUMB Hotel's Reception Desk in San Marcos Comfortable Lobby at San Marcos, TX Hotel
TripAdvisor Photos
photo0.jpg Third floor in front of another random room Third floor in front of random room Third floor near ice machine Floor of my bathroom!

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

  • jameshS340KF
    Conroe, United States
    “Weekend Stay review by jameshS340KF from Conroe, United States
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    September 20, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    The staff is very helpful. We reserved the room through Booking.com and they dropped the ball and did not make the reservation. The hotel staff made sure we got a room even though they were fully booked for Parents Weekend at Texas State University. Otherwise, we would not have been able to visit the campus with our son. All hotels were booked for that weekend.
    Stayed 
    September 2017
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • channonleec
    San Antonio, United States
    “Highly recommend review by channonleec from San Antonio, United States
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    September 18, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    Excellent customer service, clean rooms, great breakfast, well lighted parking lot. Extremely great stay and would definitely stay here again. The location is great with easy access from the highway and close to everything in town.
    Stayed 
    September 2017
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • 381lacil
    Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
    “Good hotel, great location, needs a little TLC review by 381lacil from Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    August 27, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    We stayed here to drop my daughter at college. We got two rooms, and my wife and I got the better of the two, apparently. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the beds made for great sleep! If you stay, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the highway noise is audible. There was a microwave and fridge, which was great. The Internet can be spotty and disconnected often from my son's phone, but I did not experience that with my computer. Across the hall, not so good. There was no hot water in the tub and, in the morning, it was discovered that the window had quite the leak as the carpet was wet near the window. The free hot breakfast was passable. Spicy sausage patties, biscuits that were fresh and soft, gravy and then egg "patties" which were questionable. Cereal and pastries along coffee, juices, and milk were available. The lobby, although small, is quite nice. The hallway carpeting is NOT something you want to walk on in bare feet, in needs a phenomenally good cleaning. Public areas like the elevator and hallways could benefit from some touchup. Overall, I would come back. Front desk staff was quite nice.
    Stayed 
    August 2017
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • K3534HTlisal
    Dallas, United States
    “Bad management review by K3534HTlisal from Dallas, United States
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    August 23, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    Hotels.com messed up our reservation, management did not care, housekeeping didn't clean our room, too much chlorine in the pool, no receipt at check out but they charge your card anyways. Will not stay here again. Party people IN the pool with beer and kids were trying to enjoy the pool and swim again management didn't care. Only positive thing I really enjoyed was the breakfast and free coffee and cookies through out the stay.
    Stayed 
    August 2017
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    , General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, responded to this review,
    August 24, 2017
    On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. Unfortunately, the reservation booked through a third party website was priced at the correct rate booked for a singe king bed. Our rates reflect the room type and are not based on occupancy. Our 2 queen bed rooms have always been priced higher than our single king rooms. The price you paid reflected the single king room rate, the confusion arises through your third party travel agency as they guaranteed you a single king bed at the single king price regardless of the occupancy filter settings you input. Many people sometimes expect the occupancy filter to determine the room type, but single king rooms will still show available for booking if that is the only thing available in the market. You then received a confirmation from hotels.com for a single king bed at the corresponding price. Any fees associated with the room upgrade to a double occupancy room are correct and technically justified. However, I did find it unacceptable that we missed your room service and I will investigate further. I'm very sorry you were unable to swim in our indoor pool. It is very popular, and while we do enforce a no glass policy, we do not have an anti display of alcohol policy but will will consider it. It has been very busy due to back to school weekends for Texas State and we manage the use of our pool as best as we can with full occupancy. I have addressed our policies and procedures with our housekeeping team. We also tested to our pool to ensure that chemicals were within the safety thresholds and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We certainly appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations, and work on ourselves in the hope that we can exceed expectations. Sincerely, Pablo G. Palomino General Manger Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.