Address  l  Telephone  l  E-mail   l   Map  
1069 J. Clyde Morris Blvd.
Newport News  VA  23602  USA
LAT: 37.099242 LONG: -76.45977
View and Explore

+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (757) 327-0722 Fax: +1 (757) 327-0723


Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

3.5 of 5 stars
3.5 of 5 stars Based on 316 traveler reviews
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Newport News

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
  • Very Good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
  • traveler_type_couples
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
  • traveler_type_business

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.0 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.
Hotel Photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA Comfortable Lobby Standard Guest Room Whirlpool Suite Fitness Center
Trip Advisor Photos
Hotel Lobby 1 - King Bed Suite Evening Exterior Photo missing fridge! 20160609_153422_large.jpg

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

  • Lacy L
    Jacksonville,NC, United States
    “Wish we had chosen a better hotel review by Lacy L from Jacksonville,NC, United States
    1.0  of 5 stars
    August 12, 2016
    Trip type: 
    Upon checking in we didn't take our things in right away, instead dropped by the grocery store across the street. When we came in a little later and went up to the room we get into the room and begin to put away our things. First I went to the rest room and we had less then a quarter roll of toilet paper and no new one. Then I went to put the food in the fridge and it was hot because the freezer was frozen over, finally the cable did not work on the TV. I went downstairs to inform the staff and she promptly moved us to the room next door. This room was not much better. The bathroom was dirty and had hair from the prior occupants. The tub had mold and i had to clean the shower and tub before allowing my family to use it. When I pulled the covers on the bed back we had hair in our bed and I don't believe the sheets had been changed...I took a picture of this. Our second morning in the room our bathroom had a line of ants in the doorway and up the wall! When I informed the front desk he said he would make note...didn't offer an apology or anything. We travel often and stay in Country Inn and Suites often but not this one!!! NEVER AGAIN!! This doesn't include the fact that the walls were so thin you could hear the occupants in the room next door having a conversation about "reading instruction manuals" at 2am!!!
    August 2016
    2.0  of 5 stars
    2.0  of 5 stars
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    3.0  of 5 stars
    1.0  of 5 stars
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review,
    August 26, 2016
    Lacy, I am very sorry about the issues you had during your visit. I have been working with the staff to ensure these issues do not continue to happen. We've corrected most of the issues you had, and I would like to invite you to give us another chance. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.