Address  l  Telephone  l  E-mail   l   Map  
Address:
1069 J. Clyde Morris Blvd.
Newport News  VA  23602  USA
LAT: 37.099242 LONG: -76.45977
View and Explore

Reservations:
+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (757) 327-0722 Fax: +1 (757) 327-0723

Email:
cx_nnva@countryinns.com

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA

https://www.countryinns.com/newport-news-hotel-va-23602/vanewpor

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

3.5 of 5 stars
3.5 of 5 stars Based on 381 traveler reviews
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Newport News

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    118
  • Very Good
    95
  • Average
    48
  • Poor
    46
  • Terrible
    74

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    204
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    44
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    23
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    65

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.
Hotel Photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, VA Comfortable Lobby Standard Guest Room Whirlpool Suite Fitness Center
TripAdvisor Photos
Hotel Lobby 1 - King Bed Suite Evening Exterior Photo Uncleaned rooms: Room 310 had mens toiletries and a lively roach crawling beside it. Room 310 had a traveler's bag still on the bench

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

  • Daniel O
    Vilnius County, Lithuania
    “Roach Problems / Lackadaisical Staff / Broken Gym review by Daniel O from Vilnius County, Lithuania
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    August 08, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    - Complaints of roaches in the room was met with indifference - another customer complained about the same issue when I did. - Was checked out of the room without permission and an assumption. (We did check out upon return) - Staff was argumentive to complaints, lackadaisical attitude, lacked conflict resolution skills, customer had to defend every complaint, - At NO time was the staff apologetic or sympathetic to customer experience – NEVER said “sorry”, how “can we fix this”, “let me correct this right away” or any cliché customer service lingo…They did not even fake it or try, which would have been better… Just a metaphoric middle finger… and perhaps an eye roll and defiantly sucking of the teeth as if the customer was whining. - Gym equipment has been broken for some time, read negative feedback here and elsewhere. - Pool was closed after complaints, not cleaned. - This hotel location is NOT / NOT indicative of other locations. THIS IS THE WORST OF THEM ALL
    Stayed 
    August 2017
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review,
    August 11, 2017
    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we apologize that you were not pleased with your stay due to the location, cleanliness of the hotel, facilities and your guest room as well as the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure that situation like this won't happen again from now on. We hope for another opportunity to make a more favorable impression in the future.
  • 137georgei
    Southampton, United States
    “Time to renovate and hire better cleaning staff review by 137georgei from Southampton, United States
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    July 25, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Friends getaway
    This hotel has gone down hill fast. we have stayed here a few times over the years but this stay was horrible. one of our 8 rooms had bugs and we were moved to another room. all rooms were dirty. my particular room had blood stains and dirt all over carpet. looked like a garage floor. hall ways had a very musty odor... not a great place for the very high cost
    Stayed 
    July 2017
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review,
    July 28, 2017
    Thank you for your sharing your experience with us. We strive for guest satisfaction and we are sorry that your experience fell short of that standard due to the cleanliness of your room at that time. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure all rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson standards. It is our hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again, so that we may have the opportunity to offer you an experience that is nothing less than excellent.
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.