Address  l  Telephone  l  E-mail   l   Map  
Address:
3259 Fifth Avenue South
Fort Dodge  IA  50501  USA
LAT: 42.500675 LONG: -94.14718
View and Explore

Reservations:
+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (515) 955-2259 Fax: +1 (515) 576-4391

Email:
cx_frtd@countryinns.com

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, IA

https://www.countryinns.com/ft-dodge-hotel-ia-50501/iaftdodg

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

4.0 of 5 stars
Based on 130 traveler reviews
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Fort Dodge
  • Certificate of Excellence 2016
    Certificate of Excellence 2016

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    62
  • Very Good
    41
  • Average
    17
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    7

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    55
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    13
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    3
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    45

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips (5)
Hotel Photos
Fort Dodge, Iowa Hotel Exterior Fort Dodge Hotel with Hot Breakfast Hotel's Fitness Center in Fort Dodge, IA Fort Dodge Lodging with Indoor Pool Fort Dodge, Iowa Hotel Rooms
Traveler Photos
Awesome room parking lot Bathroom room room

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

Language: 
Sort by: 
  • Jessey C
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota
    “Amazing is an understatement!”
    Reviewed 
    July 13, 2016
    Trip type: 
    Couples
    Allowed us to check in early, Front desk was very courteous- made us feel like it was home away from home.Room was very clean-- huge deal for this clean freak, breakfast was delicious-- the lady who was replenishing breakfast asked how our breakfast was, totally not expected for a complementary setting, but very welcome!
    Stayed 
    June 2016
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • Michael S
    “Restful stay in Fort Dodge, IA”
    Reviewed 
    July 05, 2016
    Trip type: 
    Couples
    We were in Fort Dodge for a weekend wedding. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. It was not a large hotel, but big enough to have all the amenities we sought: pool/whirlpool, complimentary breakfast, non-smoking room. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast room was a little busy and the staff had trouble keeping up, but it was holiday weekend, so perhaps they were understaffed. Overall positive experience.
    Stayed 
    July 2016
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • 84emilyf
    “HORRIBLE reservation, check-in, and check-out experiences!”
    Reviewed 
    June 28, 2016
    Trip type: 
    Family
    I and my family have never stayed at any Country Inns & Suites before. As new customers, we attempted to reserve a room online back in March for a stay in June. We specifically wanted a 2-room suite. You would think by the name that would be easy to manage. I attempted to make a reservation online - again, you would think that would be possible. I recall spending WELL over an hour that night trying to navigate the reservation site (the company's direct site - not an outside agent like Travelocity or anything), and because I was never able to be sure I was going to get a suite, I decided to actually call the Ft. Dodge hotel front desk. I was willing to make a reservation in any manner, but wanted a 2-room suite, and wanted to ensure we were granted either or both of our military family discount and AAA discount. This was for a 4-night reservation. The lady at the front desk, while kind, was unable to assure me we would get a 2-room suite under these conditions. She said only her manager could change the prices (of course no manager there in evening hours). She ultimately advised me to make the reservation online, and in the "special request" section, to indicate 2-room suite requested, and she was going to make a note to this effect locally there. The following day, I got a confirmation email from corporate, confirming $89/night government / military rate, AND confirming my request for a suite with 1 king and 1 pull-out sofa. Fast forward to June 23 check-in. After driving 1100+ miles, we arrived and checked in. To my GREAT surprise, we were checked in to a SINGLE room with 2 double beds and a pull-out sofa, at a rate of $129 / night!!!! TOTALLY not what we had confirmed. Round and round I went with the front desk, with manager called, and I was eventually told that while no 2-room-suites were even available that night, we could move the following day to a 2-room suite. Exhausted, I agreed to this. Mind you, I had the email referenced above to show to the front desk. The same manager that was called on check-in was on duty the following morning. But of course I had to go through the WHOLE explanation and struggle AGAIN that morning, and to my shock was again told, "I'm sorry, we don't HAVE a 2-room suite available tonight" WHAT??!?!?! I was promised the night before we could move and it would be held. Had to go through the whole frieking story AGAIN. Ultimately, she figured out one actually HAD been held for us. So we moved rooms. THEN on check-out morning, the invoice slid under our door reflected a charge of $129 the first night and $119 the following nights!!!! Of course because we were leaving at 6 a.m., no manager was on duty. And again, front desk person unable to change rates. Despite me now showing the email to THIS person and going through the whole story!!!! Assured assistant Mgr would call me later in the day (while we drove another 18 hours), we left. Ended up being refunded, BUT STILL not even the correct amount!! only $20 off for 2 nights and $30 off for first night. This is still a final amount of $10 more /night than I had confirmed!! As the company hoped, I'm sure, I and my family are so SICK of fighting and spending negative energy on what was to be a pleasant trip for family reunion, I am stopping the fight here, and will just eat the extra $ loss. But rest assured, social media and our discussions with family and friends will not reflect kindly on Country Inn & Suites. Oh... and did I mention that my parents who also booked a room at the same place ALSO arrived to find they were going to be charged a different (higher) rate than THEY had confirmed for their single room?!?!?! Fortunately I believe they resolved their issue with only ONE battle at check-in.
    Stayed 
    June 2016
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Rachel H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, responded to this review,
    July 12, 2016
    Thank you for taking time to complete this review. I'd like to apologize for the miscommunication we had. As explained previously, when you book a room online, they are unable to book our suites so when you called the hotel directly she misunderstood you when assigning you to a room. Unfortunately the person you spoke with originally no longer works here and we were unable to communicate your exact request. I'm happy we did get it settled and were able to eventually put you in the room you were wanting.
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.