Contact Us  
Address:
1560 IH 35 South
San Marcos  TX  78666  USA
LAT: 29.863956 LONG: -97.94636
View and Explore

Reservations:
+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (512) 392-8111 Fax: +1 (512) 392-8180

Email:
cx_smtx@countryinns.com

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, TX

http://www.countryinns.com/san-marcos-hotel-tx-78666/txsanmar

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

3.5 of 5 stars
Based on 225 traveler reviews
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in San Marcos

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    92
  • Very Good
    58
  • Average
    27
  • Poor
    19
  • Terrible
    29

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    106
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    34
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    12
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    45

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.0 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips (5)
Hotel Photos
San Marcos Hotel's Exterior Hotel in San Marcos, Texas Front Entrance of San Marcos Hotel Hotel's Reception Desk in San Marcos Comfortable Lobby at San Marcos, TX Hotel
Traveler Photos
Special Request One Bedroom Suite With 2 Queen Beds Exterior Patio Indoor Pool

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

Language: 
Sort by: 
  • Veronica D
    San Marcos, United States
    “Not good ratings”
    Reviewed 
    July 13, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Business
    The hotel wasn't very clean, we were not able to get into our room when we arrived at 4PM. All our kids from our baseball team got sick from swimming in the pool. They all got coughs, threw up and headaches it didn't seem like it was very clean. Frig leaked all over floor in room then the ice machine flooded another one of our teams room and got all the clothes soaked. They didn't have any working washer or dryer for us to do our laundry so we had to find an outside laundry matt. The manager was not very helpful with our issues. We won't be coming back in the future when we have another tournement.
    Stayed 
    July 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Pablo P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, responded to this review,
    July 14, 2015
    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.com On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. It does seem a bit odd that no one at all reported any issues with the pool during the stay that weekend. It is only though this review that we have heard of children allegedly getting sick. We check our pools levels daily through Leslie's Pool Supply Company and the chlorine levels were perfect that weekend. We have the printed and dated test results for the pool on hand to prove it and are happy to provide them to you at your request. In regards to the guest laundry room, only the dryer was out of order and it was explained to everyone that asked about the out of order dryer that we would dry clothes in the hotel laundry room free of charge. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Pablo G. Palomino General Manger Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
  • Carol P
    Rowlett, United States
    “Staff was nice, but odd smells made stay unpleasant”
    Reviewed 
    July 13, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Family
    This hotel could be a great place to stay in San Marcos. It was convenient and the rooms have nice amenities like mini-fridges and microwaves. The staff was nice and helpful. The problem is that there were a lot of unpleasant smells in this hotel. The original room we were assigned had a very strong awful smell that smelled like something was mildewing or rotting somewhere. We asked to be moved to another room. Our new room was better, but also had a noticeable odor. I think they had used some sort of cleaning product in there, that left a lingering smell, but the resulting smell wasn't fresh or clean smelling. It was something that you adjusted to quickly once you were in the room for a bit, but it hit you every time you returned to the room. There were also some other strong (and conflicting) smells in other areas of the hotel. Overall, these things detracted significantly from my experience and opinion of the property. (My poor cleanliness rating is related to whatever is causing the smells. My room was clean to the eye.)
    Stayed 
    July 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Pablo P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos, responded to this review,
    July 14, 2015
    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.com On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. For the inconvenience we did discount your bill and have emailed you a copy for your records. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Pablo G. Palomino General Manger Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
  • Danny V
    Oudesluis, The Netherlands
    “Just one night”
    Reviewed 
    July 11, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Family
    breakfast was good and more than enough to start the day. Room did not smell good (Mold) . Reception is quick and accurate. Price level is in line with what you can expect. We did not hear the Interstate and had a good night rest. Next year we will come back.
    Stayed 
    July 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.