Contact Us  
Address:
919 Razorback Drive,
Houghton  MI  49931  US
LAT: 47.107642 LONG: -88.58524
View and Explore

Reservations:
+1 (800) 830-5222 (US/Canada Toll-free)

Telephone: +1 (906) 487-6700 Fax: +1 (906) 483-0359

Email:
Reservations

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton, MI

http://www.countryinns.com/houghton-hotel-mi-49931/mihought

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

4.5 of 5 stars
Based on 176 traveler reviews
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Houghton
  • Certificate of Excellence 2014
    Certificate of Excellence 2014
  • GreenLeader Partner
    GreenLeader Partner

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    96
  • Very Good
    59
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    7
  • Terrible
    0

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    66
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    47
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    8
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    34

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.0 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips (5)
Hotel Photos
Houghton, MI Accomodations Welcoming Houghton, Michigan Hotel Houghton, MI Hotel's Inviting Lobby Houghton Lodging with Indoor Pool Fitness Center in Houghton, MI Hotel
Traveler Photos
Welcome to our hotel - We'll leave the light on for you! Extra Blankets, Iron & Hangers........ Bathroom Lots of Mirror Surrounding the Whirlpool Two Person Whirlpool

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

Language: 
Sort by: 
  • Dan S
    Eagle River WI, United States
    “Great place to stay in Houghton”
    Reviewed 
    February 16, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Business
    The Carlson Country Inn and Suites is an excellent place stay stay when in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The rooms are clean, up to date and well cared for. The staff is excellent, and the breakfast is always great. For the value, I wouldn't stay anywhere else, and those fresh chocolate chip cookies at check-in seal the deal.
    Stayed 
    January 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • Linda N
    duluth, United States
    “Country Inn - Houghton”
    Reviewed 
    February 11, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Business
    The Country Inn and Suites in Houghton is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean. I liked the location along with view from my room. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or a family vacation.
    Stayed 
    February 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites Houghton, responded to this review,
    February 15, 2015
    Dear Linda N, Thanks for staying with us and posting your wonderful review. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really value your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations
  • Gary R
    Bay City, United States
    “Leave Pets at HOME and put on SHOES”
    Reviewed 
    February 09, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Family
    Pets should not be allowed in pool area better yet leave them at home. If you are that attached to the pet stay home with it. People should have common sense to wear shoes when in the breakfast serving area
    Stayed 
    February 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites Houghton, responded to this review,
    February 10, 2015
    Dear Gary R, I'm sorry you were unhappy here during your recent visit and apologize for any discomfort you experienced. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and apologize that this was not the case with you. I will use your review in discussions and training to improve our operation.. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust the next time you are in Houghton. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations
  • Mark F
    Rochester, United States
    “Best In Keewenaw”
    Reviewed 
    February 09, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Family
    Excellent rooms and better amenities. The staff where very efficient and helpful. The rates are slightly higher for the area but worth what you get. The complimentary breakfast is high quality. Overall the best place to stay in/around Houghton/Hancock in the UP! Ah!
    Stayed 
    February 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites Houghton, responded to this review,
    February 10, 2015
    Dear Mark F, Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments and 5 star rating. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of maintaining the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations
  • Brenda B
    Plainwell, Michigan
    “Pretty but nothing special”
    Reviewed 
    February 09, 2015
    Trip type: 
    Family
    The beds are extremely hard. The comforters are very heavy and uncomfortable. The rooms are average and in bad need of updating. There are not enough outlets for technology. The people are very nice and smile and say I am sorry and try to help but there is only usually one visible and they are on the phone and helping at the front desk all the time. I would say understaffed.
    Stayed 
    February 2015
    Rooms
    Value
    Sleep Quality
    Location
    Cleanliness
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites Houghton, responded to this review,
    February 10, 2015
    Dear Brenda B, Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review of our hotel. I am very sorry to learn of your discomfort during your stay and offer my apologies for the frustration and inconvenience you experience. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and when for some reason we fail, we are very concerned. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your trust on a future visit. Sincerely, Ken Jacobs Guest Relations
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.