It's simple, I purchased your room through TripAdvisor which was a suite room with one bed, instead upon arrival we had to wait over 30mins (3:00pm) to get our room, and then when we went to our room, the maids were still working on it. The room was not a suite, and had two double beds. The room smelled terribly, as did the hallways. When I complained at the front desk, the manager apologized for the smell and blamed it on the wetness and heat. When I mentioned that I was suppose to have a suite, he again apologized and said he was going to move us to a suite at no charge. Aaaaa Helloooo I paid for a suite. The suite room also smelled terribly, and there was mildew in the shower bath tub. The bath tub was also terrible, it's curved or rounded bottom made it hard to stand in along with the slipperiness that is had. I went and bought a shower\tub rubber mat to my wife or I would not slip and fall (can you say law suit). I also bought Fabreeze to de-odorize the room the best I could. We also had to ask for hand towels and Kleenex from the maids after they had already completed our room. Had I not paid for the room in advanced, we would have left the first day. Unfortunately between the water festival, and Marines graduating that weekend, other hotels were already booked, which forced us to stay put. We drove 3 hours in from out of town (Spartanburg, SC). So, hence the score we gave you. We have stayed at the Hampton Inn, and Holiday Inn on previous visits which we were not totally happy with Holiday Inn, but it didn't smell and we got what we paid for. Hampton Inn was nice, but we expected more than Holiday Inn. Having said that, we expected Country Inn Suites would have at least the same if not better experience. NOT !!!! Now that I wrote all this, I am willing to bet this will all fall on deaf ears and nothing will become of it. Take heed from it and at least learn from it. Feel free to write me with any questions, comments or concerns.
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
July 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We will utilize your comments to improve our overall operations. However, your comment about booking a suite is inaccurate. You may have though you booked a suite through your third party booking agent, but this isn't what the actually sold you. You were booked in a standard room. Often time some third party sites are busy trying to sell a room with hopes of the hotel accomodating your request upon arrival. Based of your reservation, we were under no obligation to provide you with a suite especially considering the rate your paid. However, as the manager, I wanted to help resolve the issue in a manner ameniable to you. I do understand that this issue was no fault of your own. The room type issue falls squarely on the company that you booked through and not the hotel. Secondly, I apologize for the issues with the smell of the room. We are working closely to address that issue so this it does not continue to be an issue for guest in the future. Lastly, your issues have not fallen on deaf ears. It's intent to use this feedback as a teaching opportunity to improve our overall operations in the future.